Monday, December 05, 2005

Another Top Ten in Hall of Fame Poll

Southern Short Track Stock Car Auto Racing

Final 2005 North American 360 Sprint Car Poll

1., Gary Wright (13), Hooks, TX
2., Kenny Adams (3), Malabar, FL
3., Curt Michael (1), Ocean View
4., Darren Stewart, Bixby, OK
5., Jake Peters, Sioux Falls, SD
6., Travis Rilat, Texas City, TX
7., Lance Yonge, Penn Yan, NY
8., Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
9., Danny Martin, Jr., Sarasota, FL
10., Bryan Howland, Auburn, NY

Sunday, December 04, 2005

Hammer is Driver of the Year

Nineteen year old O'Reilly Auto Parts United Sprint Car Series driver Danny 'Hammer' Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida was named the 2005 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame(NSCHOF) 360 sprint car 'Wild Card' driver of the year. The honor is given to the driver that most impressed the voting members who make up the selections committee for the NSCHOF 360 sprint car poll. Martin was chosen from a list of four nominees that included fellow O'Reilly USCS competitors, Kenny Adams from Malabar, Florida and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. from Olive Branch, Mississippi plus Patriot Sprint Group champion Bryan Howland from Auburn, New York. For the second season in a row Martin drove his Martin Structures #00 into the runner-up spot in the final standings of the O'Reilly USCS National Championship. The series contested 51 races on both dirt and paved ovals.

Friday, December 02, 2005

United States Auto Club Sprint Cars Invade Mickey's World

Nine Florida Drivers came to the United States Auto Club's (USAC) first sprint car race since USAC left the Walt Disney World Speedway. They came for the Mopar PRI Classic in Orlando, Florida. Seven went home early.

One Florida Driver, Dave Steele, won it. Steele had a best lap on lap 15 of 13.01 seconds at 92.208 mph.

Danny "The Hammer" Martin, Jr. another Florida Driver in Steele's family-owned car completed the race without a scratch. The Hammer qualified for his first ever USAC Sprint Car event. The Hammer's best lap came on lap 14 of 13.315 seconds at 90.034 mph. Martin's fast lap exceeded the best lap of veteran sprinter Dave Darland whose fast lap was 13.319 seconds at 90.007 mph.

Hammer plans on returning to USAC in 2006.

USAC Sprint Cars Entries - Florida Drivers

Danny Martin, Jr. Sarasota Qualified
Dave Steele Tampa Qualified
Kyle Nicholas Naples Did Not Qualify
Stan Butler Bushnell Did Not Qualify
Shane Butler Bushnell Did Not Qualify
Mark Gimmler Palm Beach Did Not Qualify
Bobby Rose Eustis Did Not Qualify
Travis Miniea Fort Laud Did Not Qualify
Gary Gimmler Palm Beach Did Not Qualify

One Driver - 70 Grand $$$$$

"INDIANAPOLIS - Dave Steele of Tampa, Fla. is expected to be among favorites for victory in his home state this Friday when USAC conducts the inaugural Mopar-PRI Sprint and Midget Classic at Orlando SpeedWorld Speedway. Preliminaries in four different racing classes are scheduled Friday.

Steele comes fresh from his victory in Thursday night's USAC Western Sprint race at Irwindale (Calif.) Speedway. The Florida veteran has a remarkable record in recent USAC racing becoming the first driver to record victories in all three USAC National Series five consecutive years! His 2005 resume includes four Silver Crown wins, two Sprint wins and a Midget triumph and he is the reigning USAC Weld Racing Silver Crown Champion.

The event marks USAC's first appearance in the Sunshine State since 2002 and a stellar field of cars and drivers is expected, showcasing the nation's top racing talent on the 1/2-mile paved oval."

Thursday, December 01, 2005

Martin Hammers out National Sprint Car Hall of Fame 360 "Wild Card" Nomination

Nineteen year old National Sprint Car Hall of Fame 360 sprint car "Wild Card" driver of the year nominee, Danny "Hammer" Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida pounded up and down the highway in 2005 with persistence over the long O'Reilly USCS (51 race) season. He was a young man on a mission, chasing the National Championship in possibly the most competitive 360 winged sprint car series in the Nation over the 2005 season.

Martin joins 2005 O'Reilly USCS Champion, Kenny Adams and fellow O'Reilly USCS competitor, seventeen year old Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. from Olive Branch, Mississippi and talented New York teenager Bryan Howland as nominees for 2005 NSCHOF Wild Card 360 driver of the year. The award, which is described as the driver who has most impressed with their 2005 performances, is voted on by a panel of NSCHOF pollsters.